top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaul

The Orcslayer reviews orcs...1. A Gathering of Ravens by Scott Oden

This is the first novel I have read in two years (might even be more)! We follow in the footsteps of Grimnir, a bad bastard if ever there was one. Killing folk left, right and center, and even kidnapping a young girl (Etain) to help him to finish a 500 year quest for vengeance. The book is split into three parts, with each part taking place in a different country.

The book is a mix of fantasy and historical fiction, and has plenty of unpronounceable names to get your tongue and head around...lovely!

I liked the book a lot and tried without success to find the follow up at my local branch of Waterstones, which means i'll have to order it. My score: 5/5


Here comes Saethryth to rate the orcs...


I was confused when the word Ork appeared (it made me think of a popular, modern, table top game), but then it became Orkneys which I believe is an island and not the orc equivalent of kidneys.

There was only one orc! One bloody orc! And then he goes by a poncey name...Orcneas. I ask you!

Then he killed an elf in one on one combat. Mind you they weren't an Orcslayer...


....

....

Truth be told i'm not sure I could take Grimnir in a fair fight, luckily I have two magic swords which would help.

Saethryth's orc rating: 4.5/5

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How am i doing?

Currently i am writing stories 2 and 3 for Return to Ashen Falls. Both stories are currently over 4k words, so the book will definately be over twice the length of Tales from Ashen Falls.

Sale

From the 10th January 2018 through to the 14th January 2018 myself and a lot of fellow dark fantasy / grimdark authors will be having a sale. Tales From Ashen Falls will be FREE and The Eighth God wil

bottom of page